My Big Sista was Big’s Sista

I was approved to join the Big Brother Big Sister program at my firm!

I’ve wanted to do BBBS for a year or so now, but it’s a serious time commitment, and with my commute and uncertainty about where I would end up working, I just couldn’t do it. I didn’t want to be the asshole who leaves some fatherless kid on the stoop with a melted ice cream cone, all because I had to use my one Saturday afternoon to go to the DMV and get my eyebrows waxed. I didn’t want to do it unless I could truly commit.

There’s a program here where you meet with your Little twice a month, but the school actually shuttles them to my office. It’s during work hours, so I just go downstairs. How convenient!

I’ve felt the need to give back for a long time now, and to do so in a way that is not focused on ME is ideal. Otherwise, I’m just a selfish person who works and has a few friends and a boyfriend and doesn’t do anything of real, true substance. Websites are not real. TV is not real. This will be real.

So anyway- that process begins soon. I need to apply to the organization and go through an interview process… and then we start in February.

I hope my kid likes me. Gosh I think I’ll be more nervous my first day as a BBBS mentor than I was for my first day of actual work. And of course; this matters more.

Leave a Reply

