Rub some Benafleck on there

Today I ran the entire 5 miles without stopping to walk except for once and it was for no more than 3 minutes. I was so proud of myself. I just kept thinking, every time I wanted to stop, “You’re going to do it eventually and if you quit now you’re just going to have to try again and it’s still going to suck then, so keep going.” I did it. My right ankle, which I wrapped before because it was feeling a bit weak lately started to hurt. But it’s fucked now. It’s sprained, just like my left ankle 3 months ago that was out of commission for three weeks. This time I’ve smartened up a bit. Immediately I had it wrapped, I soaked in Epsom salt, I elevated, I iced, etc. I’m on Perkiset now so I can’t feel it but for a moment I felt it throb so I know it’s still messed up. I don’t work again til Friday (I had to give up a $175 dollar shift today!!! I CANT AFFORD THAT). I’m a bit worried about driving to/walking around school but I can’t rack up missed days just yet. I’d like to keep those for either 1) getting sick like I often do once a winter and 2) for days I’m just too sleepy to go.

So, my running career is over, but I’m proud because I did what I have been building up to: ran the entire 5 miles. I felt my leg muscles really working. Toward the end I started to run as fast as my tired legs would to “let out that last bit of energy” and my legs almost gave out completely. Thiiis close to muscle failure.

I was going to go to John’s Jiu Jitsu/Muay Thai Kickboxing class this week with him and Josh but I’m going to have to wait at least a week until I can walk without looking like a complete invalid.

Alright, glass of wine to help me fall asleep and then.. sleep.

Leave a Reply

